Actress Annie Ilonzeh on the set of Charlie’s Angels in Miami

and bonus pic on the red carpet 🙂

More about Annie:

Annette Ngosi Ilonzeh was born in Grapevine, Texas in 1983.  The Texas native was a finance major with an Associates degree who’d transferred to the University of Texas at Arlington on a basketball scholarship when, in her senior year, she decided to pursue acting.

After visiting Los Angeles, Ilonzeh was hooked and headed west. However, her father insisted, “I’m giving you one year to become a superstar and if you’re not, you’re coming home.” Ilonzeh began working almost immediately, nabbing small parts in some big projects. 

In 2007 she made ​​a TV debut in an episode of CBS series How I Met Your Mother.  She had bit roles in movies He’s Just Not That Into You, Miss March and Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief.  In 2009-2010, she appeared in three episodes Melrose Place, in 2010 she starred in two episodes Entourage. From 2010 to 2011 she played the role Maya Ward on the ABC soap opera General Hospital.  

In January 2011 it was announced Annie will be one of the Angels on the reboot of the television series, Charlie’s Angels.

Charlie’s Angels Premieres Thursday Sept 22 on ABC.

5 thoughts on “Actress Annie Ilonzeh on the set of Charlie’s Angels in Miami

    • I will for Annie 🙂 I want to show support to shows that will portray bw in good light, so I’ll watch the first couple episodes and see how it goes.

      and YES there are sooo many reboots lately which is good and bad.

      What about you??

      • I plan to as well and for the same reasons. I with there were more black ensemble dramas that presented black women, and men for that matter, in a more positive nuanced light. I feel like we only get to do stupid comedies or reality shows.

        semi related and not to hijack the post but…
        What’s your opinion on Single Ladies? I’ve never seen it and I’ve heard mixed things

  1. We don’t HAVE to do these crappy shows. Black women who don’t care about their image have no problem signing up for them. Have you heard of the Adventures of an Awkward black girl by Issa Rae? There could be 100x more black women starting their own shows like she has done online.

    As for “Single Ladies”…there are certain networks I avoid and VH1 and BET are at the top of this list. They are notorious for “coon” characters in their programming and I won’t support them by watching their shows.

    When I do have time to watch tv, its usually fun networks like HGTV/Food Network/Travel Channel, and sometimes Bravo. HGTV is entertaining and educational and I see positive and everyday black women, in partucular bw in interracial marriages.

    • “We don’t HAVE to do these crappy shows. Black women who don’t care about their image have no problem signing up for them.”

      True. lol I just wish more people were cognoscente of the potential impacts of their portrayals. But alas…

      “Have you heard of the Adventures of an Awkward black girl by Issa Rae?”
      Yes 🙂 I just marathoned it yesterday. I really really like it.

      ” HGTV is entertaining and educational and I see positive and everyday black women, in partucular bw in interracial marriages.”
      I’m a bit of an HGTV junkie myself and I agree it’s refreshing to see positive everyday women- that’s the best combat stereotypes and ignorance.

      I really like this Anna Julia Cooper quote: “Only the black woman can say ‘when and where I enter, in the quiet, undisputed dignity of my womanhood, without violence and without suing or special patronage, then and there the whole Negro race enters with me.'”

Leave a Reply

