Tamera Mowry Star Wants Women To Consider Interracial Dating


Tamera Mowry walked down the aisle for the first time this past May when she married her longtime boyfriend, Fox News Correspondent, Adam Housley. Tamera was the beaming bride with her twin sister Tia by her side as they celebrated her big day. Tamera sat down with Essence Magazine to discuss her married life, being a good wife and the persistent question about her interracial marriage.

On the interracial question:

Well, I always find these questions so interesting, because I’m a product of an interracial marriage — and I never really grew up seeing color. I honestly realized that my dad was White when someone told me in middle school. They’re like, “Oh your dad’s White?” I’m like, “Oh, my gosh, he really is White.” I knew what race was, but it didn’t matter to me. Yes we are an interracial couple. The thing is we do still deal with that. People always question that. If anything, it hurts, but we do have more people supporting us then making stupid comments. We kind of just ignore it and focus on the positive. Love is love and a lot of times people might be in the situation they’re in because they put barriers up. Like some people only want to date a model, or an actor, or an athlete. You’re only limiting yourself. Open up to what’s out there because God made us all.

On what it means to be a good wife:

My mom was such an amazing example. She was a mom, wife, and a career woman. I just want to be there for my husband. I don’t ever want him to think that he’s not getting everything at home — love, attention, encouragement, a meal. I just want him to feel the best he feels at home. I think that’s what a good wife is. Someone who is very attentive to her husband.

Tamera and Tia will appear in a Style Network special, “Tia & Tamera” dishing on their wedding and Tia’s pregnancy, airing August 8th.

Would you consider Tamera’s advice and date outside of your race?  Have you done so already? Could you relate to Tamera when she said race was never brought up until a classmate at school made it an issue?

Source

10 thoughts on “Tamera Mowry Star Wants Women To Consider Interracial Dating

    • ahah I know “sneaky start”.

      I’ve been putting this off too long so I’m just going to start posting a few black women celeb stories here and there and get a few more followers before I start posting interviews (hopefully before the little one is born lol 🙂

  1. Does anyone watch Tia and Tameras show on the style network? On the season premire she was saying how shes been reading the blogs and mentioned all the hurtful comments that have been said about her and her husband including calling her a white mans whore. Was glad she addressed that ignorance on television.

    • They have a show on Style?? I’ll have to go check that out. The unfortunate comments are to be expected by some of the “lock step’ folks in the black collective, but I’m glad she doesn’t let it affect her. Tia and Tamera are some of the few child stars that have emerged from the childhood fame in one piece 🙂

      • Tamera and Tia will appear in a Style Network special, “Tia & Tamera” dishing on their wedding and Tia’s pregnancy, airing August 8th.

        You did not read your own post? 😀

        It’s good enough reality show. They had a slimy male stripper on the latest episode!

  2. lol I know they have the special, but she made it seem like they have a permanent show, but I think she was just talking about the wedding special. That would be fab if they had a regular show on the network though, just talking about life as newlyweds and Tamera planning for a baby 🙂

  3. They do have a regular show bwlivingwell. I watch it every week. I believe its in its 2nd season because I watched a few episodes of it last year when Tamera was still single and Tia was trying to fix her up. She has been with this guy a long time but I assume during the first season they werent together for that period of time. Glad they worked it out and married. The show is on monday nights. Melanie Brown aka scary spice also had a reality show on the style channel, not sure if that one is still on or not

Leave a Reply

